About IAMTCS Membership Education Courses/Member Area Sponsors Resources IAMTCS News
Board of Directors



What is IAMTCS?

IAMTCS is a not-for-profit professional organization whose mission is to represent the medical transport communication specialist on a national level through education, standardization and recognition.

Since our inception in 1989 our goals have included providing quality educational opportunities, fostering team work, and building recognition for communicators as professionals within flight programs. IAMTCS also provides a valuable networking resource within the medical transport industry. Our membership consists of active communication specialists and administrative managers. Air medical flight programs and others associated with or interested in communications, are encouraged to join as associate members. All active members have full voting privileges on all issues and are encouraged to become involved in any of the committees within the association. Current committees include Education, Editorial and Steering, Safety and Membership.

The association is guided by a Board of Directors elected by the membership. The Board consists of a President, President Elect, Secretary, Treasurer and eleven at-large members. The at-large members serve on various committees. One board member serves as the IAMTCS Representative to the AMTC Planning Committee and one appointed board member serves on the Commission for Accreditation of Medical Transport Systems (CAMTS) Board. The Past President serves as advisor for one Year. The Board of Directors is also guided by a Medical Director.

As a member of IAMTCS, your input, suggestions, and assistance is encouraged and appreciated. Board members are available to assist with questions or concerns and always welcome your comments. If you are not a current member of IAMTCS, take a moment and join. Consider the following ways in which these IAMTCS Programs may be of value to you:

  • Communicator-specific courses certified for continuing education units offered at the Air Medical Transport Conference (AMTC).

  • Certified Flight Communicator (CFC) and Advanced CFC courses IAMTCS Training Manual, the standard textbook for air medical communication training offers IAMTCS members the opportunity to learn efficient, proven techniques from some of the most successful communicators in the industry.

  • Ongoing standardization efforts including research into the establishment of a communicator certification program and pursuit of a national minimum standard for air medical communications specialist training.

Communication Specialists face daily challenges and additional responsibility as air medical transport systems expand and change. The key to any organizations success is the involvement of its members. If you have the chance to travel to AMTC or participate in a IAMTCS CFC Course, take advantage of this opportunity to meet and interact with fellow communication specialists.

Board of Directors top

Executive Board


Steve Goff
Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services / Maryland State Police Aviation Command

President Elect, Secretary

Chris Forncrook 
Superior Ambulance / Air Med 1

Committees:  Education, Research


Mac Snead
Carilion Clinic Patient Transport
Committees:  Legislative (chair), Membership (chair), Research (chair)

Board Members At-Large

Theodore Bartkoski 
Lifestar or Hartford Hospital

Aaron Bowles 
AirMed International
Committees:  Education, Membership

Shawnda Chrest
Med-Trans Air Medical Transport
Committees:  Education (chair)

Sean Cloud 
Erlanger Life Force
Committees: Web/Social Media (chair), Public Relations/Marketing

Bobby Jo Edwards  
Avera Careflight
Committees:  Public Relations/Marketing, Membership

Roxanne Fawson
AirMed University of Utah Hospital

Rickey McLester 
HALO Flight
Committees: CAPCE

Terri Smith 
LifeFlight of Maine
Committees: CAPCE (chair), Membership

Samantha Struve 
Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services / Maryland State Police Aviation Command
Committees: Web/Social Committee, Corporate Sponsorship, Public Relations/Marketing (chair)

Robert Throckmorton 
Air Methods
Committees:  Education, Membership, Web/Social Media

Jonathan Unwin 
University of Florida Health ShandsCair

Appointed Directors

Garet Hickman 
Flight for Life Colorado

Gregg Taggard 
Vanderbilt Life Flight

IAMTCS Medical Director

Charles W. Sheppard, MD 
Mercy Life Line



International Association of Medical Transport Communication Specialists
2311 Yellow Mountain Road, Roanoke, VA 24014
Copyright 2016 all rights reserved
Contact  Us